Government Contacts

County Project Manager / County Council Members / Fire Commissioners / State Representatives / DNR

Here's a list of government contacts along with a brief description of why we need to write them. Please take a moment to draft a letter, even if very brief. Be sure to reference county project file number: 07-101924-000-00-LU

The 'final word' on this project may be determined by this group depending on whether or not the Hearing Examiners decision is appealed. They need to know registered voters are concerned about the proposal, and why. John Kostner represents District 1 where the proposed track would be located. Here's the list:

Snohomish County Council Member, District 1, John Kostner: John.Koster@co.snohomish.wa.us
Address: 3000 Rockefeller, M/S 609; Everett, WA 98201
 
Snohomish County Council Member, District 2, Kirke Sievers: kirke.sievers@co.snohomish.wa.us
Address: 3000 Rockefeller, M/S 609, Everett, WA 98201
 
Snohomish County Council Member, District 3, Gary Nelson: gary.nelson@co.snohomish.wa.us
Address: 3000 Rockefeller, M/S 609; Everett, WA 98201
 
Snohomish County Council Member, District 4, Dave Gossett: dave.gossett@co.snohomish.wa.us
Address: 3000 Rockefeller, M/S 609; Everett, WA 98201
 
Snohomish County Council Member, District 5, Dave Somers: dave.somers@co.snohomish.wa.us
Address: 3000 Rockefeller, M/S 609; Everett, WA 98201 

The proposed site lies between these two fire districts and will need to be annexed into one of them. We need to make the commissioners aware that the project represents a serious threat to the surrounding forest, wildlife and and residential areas due to the very limited resources of the respective fire departments and remote location. We need them on board as opposing the project

FIRE DISTRICT #23 (Robe)
Dick Dinham  34010 102nd St NE
Granite Falls, WA 98252  Home: (360) 691-5462
dickdinham@aol.com 
 
FIRE DIST #17 (Granite Falls, 3 positions)
COMMISSIONER POS 1 
NP Rebecca Dane  8300 Robe Menzel Rd
Granite Falls, WA 98252  Home: (360) 691-5125
rebeccadane@verizon.ne  06/08/2007
 
NP Kevin R. Hayes  12125 Rainbow Dr
Arlington, WA 98223  Home: (360) 691-0329
hayesk@purplesplace.com  06/08/2007
 
NP Bryan L. Hunt  21326 114th St NE
Granite Falls, WA 98252
PO Box 1861
Granite Falls, WA 98252  Home: (360) 691-4525
capthunt@hotmail.com  06/07/2007 

Again, we need to make these elected officials aware of the project and its impact on the Mt. Loop area, and our opposition. You may want to mention your support for the proposed legislation HB 1434 and SB 5544 that would prevent this kind of project.

Senator Val Stevens stevens.val@leg.wa.gov
Rep. Dan Kristiansen kristiansen.dan@leg.wa.gov
Rep. Kirk Pearson pearson.kirk@leg.wa.gov

The land that immediately borders the eastern property line of the proposed project belongs to the DNR. This agency is responsible for the protection of DNR public land and needs to be made aware of the threat due to fire should the project be completed. A fire that spreads into this property would be nearly impossible to contain due to inaccessibility and would likely spread to the residential areas to the east (the prevailing winds during the dry summer months are westerly). The property lies directly downwind of the site.

Fire Prevention Program Coordinator: fire_prevention@wadnr.gov.

If you want your letter reviewed, send a draft to us at Info@Nomotocrossonmtloop.com and we'll provide input.

We appreciate your support! Please send tax deductable donations to:

The Mountain Loop Conservancy
P.O. Box 1097, Granite Falls, WA 98252

No Motocross! Resources